Top 25 Spin Bowlers With Most Wickets In Tests

All Test Ratings on the website are from 01/01/1950 onwards. Our ratings are based on conditions and diverse oppositions. Before the above mentioned date, there were primarily only two teams which dominated cricket. Moreover, matches were of unequal length with some ending in 4 days and some being timeless. Post 1950, West Indies and South Africa grew as test teams. Moreover, Asian teams India and Pakistan started improving after 1950 and became compenent at home at least. Performance in Asia and outside Asia are integral to our overall rating.

*Note: All Test Ratings are updated till 2022-06-21

History of Top Wicket Takers

Fred Trueman of England was the first bowler to cross 300 wickets in test cricket. He finished his career in 1965 with 307 wickets. His record was broken by Dennis Lillee of Australia, in December 1981. Dennis Lillee retired in 1984 with 355 wickets. Ian Botham of England crossed his tally at The Oval in 1986. Richard Hadlee of New Zealand equalled Ian Botham’s tally of 373 wickets against Australia in Melbourne in December 1987. He took the record to 431 wickets. Kapil Dev broke his record against Sri Lanka in Ahmedabad in February 1994. Kapil’s record of 434 stood for around 6 years before it was broken by Courtney Walsh in March 2000. Walsh took the record past 500 wickets for the first time retiring in April 2001 with 519 wickets. Then there was a tussle between Muthiah Muralidaran and Shane Warne for the record which was won by Muralidaran, who has took the record to a mammoth 800 wickets by the time he retired from Tests in July 2010. Among fast bowlers, the record for most wickets is held by James Anderson, who is the only one with more than 600 wickets.


1M MuralitharanSL1992201023018180800
2SK WarneAUS1992200727317995708
3A KumbleIND1990200823618355619
4R AshwinIND2011202216210666442
5HMRKB HerathSL1999201817012157433
6NM LyonAUS2011202220413732427
7Harbhajan SinghIND1998201519013537417
8DL VettoriNZ1997201418712441362
9LR GibbsWI195819761488989309
10DL UnderwoodENG196619821517674297
11BS BediIND196619791187637266
12Danish KaneriaPAK200020101129082261
13GP SwannENG200820131097642255
14R BenaudAUS195219641166704248
15RA JadejaIND201220221125915242
15BS ChandrasekharIND19641979977199242
17Abdul QadirPAK197719901117742236
18Yasir ShahPAK20142021857306235
19Shakib Al HasanBAN200720221057003225
20Saqlain MushtaqPAK19952004866206208
20SCG MacGillAUS19982008856038208
22MM AliENG201420211127149195
23EAS PrasannaIND19621978865742189
24Mushtaq AhmedPAK19902003896100185
25Saeed AjmalPAK20092014675003178

Leave a Comment