Top 25 Fast Bowlers With Most Wickets In Tests

All Test Ratings on the website are from 01/01/1950 onwards. Our ratings are based on conditions and diverse oppositions. Before the above mentioned date, there were primarily only two teams which dominated cricket. Moreover, matches were of unequal length with some ending in 4 days and some being timeless. Post 1950, West Indies and South Africa grew as test teams. Moreover, Asian teams India and Pakistan started improving after 1950 and became compenent at home at least. Performance in Asia and outside Asia are integral to our overall rating.

*Note: All Test Ratings are updated till 2022-06-21

History of Top Wicket Takers

Fred Trueman of England was the first bowler to cross 300 wickets in test cricket. He finished his career in 1965 with 307 wickets. His record was broken by Dennis Lillee of Australia, in December 1981. Dennis Lillee retired in 1984 with 355 wickets. Ian Botham of England crossed his tally at The Oval in 1986. Richard Hadlee of New Zealand equalled Ian Botham’s tally of 373 wickets against Australia in Melbourne in December 1987. He took the record to 431 wickets. Kapil Dev broke his record against Sri Lanka in Ahmedabad in February 1994. Kapil’s record of 434 stood for around 6 years before it was broken by Courtney Walsh in March 2000. Walsh took the record past 500 wickets for the first time retiring in April 2001 with 519 wickets. Then there was a tussle between Muthiah Muralidaran and Shane Warne for the record which was won by Muralidaran, who has took the record to a mammoth 800 wickets by the time he retired from Tests in July 2010. Among fast bowlers, the record for most wickets is held by James Anderson, who is the only one with more than 600 wickets.


1JM AndersonENG2003202231817219651
2GD McGrathAUS1993200724312186563
3SCJ BroadENG2007202228415230546
4CA WalshWI1984200124212688519
5DW SteynSA2004201917110077439
6N Kapil DevIND1978199422712867434
7RJ HadleeNZ197319901509612431
8SM PollockSA199520082029733421
9Wasim AkramPAK198520021819778414
10CEL AmbroseWI198820001798501405
11M NtiniSA1998200919011242390
12IT BothamENG1977199216810878383
13MD MarshallWI197819911517876376
14Waqar YounisPAK198920031548788373
15Imran KhanPAK197119911428258362
16WPUJC VaasSL1994200919410501355
16DK LilleeAUS197119841328493355
18TG SoutheeNZ200820221649893343
19AA DonaldSA199220021297344330
20RGD WillisENG197119841658190325
21TA BoultNZ201120221478548313
21MG JohnsonAUS200720151408891313
23Zaheer KhanIND2000201416510247311
23I SharmaIND2007202118810078311
25B LeeAUS199920081509554310

Leave a Comment