Top 25 Batsmen With Most Runs In Test Cricket

All Test Ratings on the website are from 01/01/1950 onwards. Our ratings are based on conditions and diverse oppositions. Before the above mentioned date, there were primarily only two teams which dominated cricket. Moreover, matches were of unequal length with some ending in 4 days and some being timeless. Post 1950, West Indies and South Africa grew as test teams. Moreover, Asian teams India and Pakistan started improving after 1950 and became compenent at home at least. Performance in Asia and outside Asia are integral to our overall rating.

*Note: All Test Ratings are updated till 2022-06-21

History of Top Run Scorers

Jack Hobbs of England was the first batsman to cross 5,000 runs in test cricket. He finished his career in 1930 with 5,410 runs. His record was broken by Wally Hammond, also of England, in 1937. Wally Hammond retired in 1947 with 7,249 runs. His record was not broken for another 23 years till Colin Cowdrey, also of England, surpassed him in 1970. Cowdrey took the record to 7,459 but Sir Garry Sobers of West Indies soon overtook him. Sobers held the record from March, 1972 to December, 1981. His tally of 8,032 runs was surpassed by Sir Geoff Boycott of England who retired with 8,114 runs in his career. The record of Boycott was broken by Sunil Gavaskar of India in November 1983. Gavaskar took the record beyond 10,000 runs for the first time. At the time of his retirement, he had scored 10,122 runs. In February 1993, Allan Border of Australia surpassed Gavaskar and he took the record to 11,174 runs by the time he retired in March 1994. His record was then broken by Brian Lara of West Indies in November 2005. Lara retired as the leading run scorer in 2006 with 11,953 runs. His record was broken on October 17, 2008 by Sachin Tendulkar of India. Tendulkar has held the record since then. He retired in 2013 with 15,921 runs.


1SR TendulkarIND19892013329335115921
2RT PontingAUS19952012287294113378
3JH KallisSA19952013280404513289
4RS DravidIND19962012286323613288
5AN CookENG20062018291163312472
6KC SangakkaraSL20002015233173812400
7BC LaraWI1990200623263411953
8S ChanderpaulWI19942015280493011867
9DPMD JayawardenaSL19972014252153411814
10AR BorderAUS19781994265442711174
11SR WaughAUS19852004260463210927
12JE RootENG20122022220162710194
13SM GavaskarIND19711987214163410122
14Younis KhanPAK20002017213193410099
15HM AmlaSA2004201921516289282
16GC SmithSA2002201420513279265
17GA GoochENG197519952156208900
18Javed MiandadPAK1976199318921238832
20VVS LaxmanIND1996201222534178781
21AB de VilliersSA2004201819118228765
22MJ ClarkeAUS2004201519822288643
23ML HaydenAUS1994200918414308625
24V SehwagIND200120131806238586
25IVA RichardsWI1974199118212248540

Leave a Comment